
TITLE 660.  DEPARTMENT OF SECURITIES 
CHAPTER 11.  OKLAHOMA UNIFORM SECURITIES ACT OF 2004 

 
RULEMAKING ACTION:  Submission of Proposed Rules to the Governor and Cabinet 
Secretary [amended] 
DATE:  January 25, 2016 
PROPOSED RULES: 
 Subchapter 5. Broker-Dealers and Agents 
 Part 3. Licensing Procedures 
 660:11-5-11. [AMENDED] 
 Subchapter 11. Exemptions From Securities Registration 
 Part 5 - Exempt Transactions 
 660:11-11-49. [REVOKED] 
 Part 7. Federal Covered Securities 
 660:11-11-61. [AMENDED] 
 660:11-11-62. [NEW] 
 Subchapter 15. Miscellaneous Provisions 
 660:11-15-2. [NEW] 
REGULATORY TEXT: 
660:11-5-11. [NEW] 
660:11-5-11.  Initial registration  [AMENDED] 
(a)  Broker-dealer.  Each broker-dealer applying for initial registration pursuant to Section 1-
406 of the Securities Act:  
 (1)  who is contemporaneously applying for FINRA membership or who is a FINRA member:  
  (A)  shall file with the CRD:  
   (i)  a completed Form BD, including Schedules A-E; and  
   (ii)  the filing fee specified in Section 1-612 of the Securities Act.  

(B)  shall file with the Department, within 60 days of becoming registered, a list of the 
addresses, telephone numbers and resident agents of all nonbranch sales offices 
located within the state of Oklahoma.  

 (2)  who is not a current FINRA member shall file with the Department:  
  (A)  a completed Form BD, including Schedules A-E;  
  (B)  the filing fee specified in Section 1-612 of the Securities Act;  
  (C)  audited financial statements as required by 660:11-5-45;  

(D)  documentation of compliance with the minimum capital requirement set forth in 
Section 1-406.E of the Securities Act and 660:11-5-17;  
(E)  designation, qualification and registration of a principal as defined in 660:11-5-2 
pursuant to (c) of this sectionSection;  
(F)  a list of the addresses, telephone numbers and resident agents of all nonbranch 
sales offices located within the state of Oklahoma;  

  (G)  a copy of the written supervisory procedures of the broker-dealer; and  
(H)  any additional documentation, supplemental forms and information as the 
Administrator may deem necessary.  

(b)  Broker-dealer agent.  
(1)  Required documents.  Each broker-dealer agent applying for initial registration 
pursuant to Section 1-406 of the Securities Act shall file:  

  (A)  a completed Form U-4;  
  (B)  the filing fee specified in Section 1-612 of the Securities Act;  

(C)  proof of successful completion of the applicable examinations specified in 660:11-5-
16;  
(D)  proof of applicant’s approved status of registration or licensure in a jurisdiction in 
which he has an office of employment when such registration is required; and  
(DE)  any additional documentation, supplemental forms and information as the 
Administrator may deem necessary.  



(2)  Where to file.  An agent applying for registration with a FINRA member shall file the 
documentation required by (1)(A) through (C) of this subsection with the CRD and shall file 
any additional documentation with the Department. Agents applying for registration with a 
non-FINRA broker-dealer shall file the required documentation with the Department.  

(c)  Broker-dealer principal.  
(1)  Required documents.  Each person applying for initial registration under the Securities 
Act as a principal of a broker-dealer who is not a member of FINRA shall file with the 
Department:  

  (A)  a completed Form U-4;  
  (B)  a $50.00 filing fee;  

(C)  proof of successful completion of the applicable examinations specified in 660:11-5-
16; and 
(D)  an executed Applicant/Management Certification for Non-FINRA Principals Form; 
and  
(E)  any additional documentation, supplemental forms and information as the 
Administrator may deem necessary.  

(2)  Effect of registration.  Registration under the Securities Act as a principal of a broker-
dealer shall constitute registration as an agent.  

(d) Issuer agent.  Agents of issuers applying for initial registration in the state of Oklahoma 
pursuant to Section 1-406 of the Securities Act shall file the following with the Department:  
 (1)  a completed Form U-4;  
 (2)  the fee specified in Section 1-612 of the Securities Act;  
 (3)  proof of successful completion of the applicable examinations specified in 660:11-5-16;  
 (4)  an executed Applicant/Management Certification Form; and  

(5)  any additional documentation, supplemental forms and information as the Administrator 
may deem necessary.  

(e)  Requirement for continued registration.  660:11-5-42, adopted pursuant to Section 
Sections 1-411.D.13 and 1-605.A.2. of the Securities Act, sets forth the standards of ethical 
practices for broker-dealers and their agents. Paragraph (22) of said rule requires that each 
broker-dealer establish, maintain and enforce written procedures that will enable it to supervise 
properly the activities of each registered agent to assure compliance with applicable securities 
laws, rules, regulations and statements of policy. Therefore, the initial and continued registration 
of a broker-dealer that is not a FINRA member is conditioned upon the designation, qualification 
and registration of a principal who shall be responsible for the supervision of all agents of the 
broker-dealer who are registered under the Securities Act. A broker-dealer applicant or 
registrant may apply for registration of more than one person as a principal of said broker-
dealer.  
660:11-11-61.  Regulation D Rule 506 federal covered security notice filing  [AMENDED] 
(a)  Notice requirement.  Issuers offering a security in this state in reliance upon Section 1-
301.1 of the Securities Act by reason of compliance with Regulation D, Rule 506, adopted by 
the United States Securities and Exchange CommissionSEC, shall be required to file a notice 
with the Administrator pursuant to the authority of Section 1 302.C. of the Securities Act if a sale 
of a security in this state occurs as a result of such offering. Such notice shall be filed no later 
than fifteen (15) days after the first sale of a security in this state for which a notice is required. 
(b)  Terms Content of notice filing.  The issuer shall file with the Administrator no later than 
fifteen (15) days after the first sale of a security in this state for which a notice is required under 
(a) of this section Each required notice shall include the following::  

(1)  one copy of the notice of sales on Form D as most recently filed with the SEC, and the 
Appendix thereto; 

 (2)  a consent to service of process on Form U-2 and (if applicable) Form U-2A; and 
 (3)  the notice filing fee required by Section 1-612.A.19. of the Securities Act. 
660:11-11-62.  Regulation A Tier 2 federal covered security notice filing [NEW] 
(a)  Notice requirement.  Issuers offering a security in this state in reliance upon Section 1-
301.1 of the Securities Act by reason of compliance with Tier 2 of Regulation A, adopted by the 



SEC, shall be required to file a notice with the Administrator pursuant to the authority of Section 
1 302.C. of the Securities Act. Such notice shall be filed prior to the first offer of securities in this 
state that is subsequent to qualification of the offering statement by the SEC.  
(b)  Content of notice.  Each required notice shall include the following: 

(1)  a copy of Part I of Federal Form 1-A in conjunction with a completed Oklahoma Notice 
of Regulation A - Tier 2 Offering form (or equivalent uniform form), or copies of all 
documents filed with the SEC; 
(2)  a consent to service of process (if such is not included in the submitted Notice form); 
and, 
(3)  the notice filing fee required by Section 1-612.A.19. of the Securities Act. 

660:11-15-2.  Protection of vulnerable adults from financial exploitation [NEW] 
(a)  Definitions.  The following words and terms, when used in this Section shall have the 
following meaning, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

(1)  “Agencies” means the Oklahoma Department of Securities and the Oklahoma 
Department of Human Services or the adult protective services agency in the state in which 
the eligible adult resides. 
(2)  “Eligible adult” means: 
 (A)  an individual 65 years of age or older; or 

(B)  an incapacitated person or a vulnerable adult as such terms are defined in the 
Protective Services for Vulnerable Adults Act, 43A O.S., Sections 10-101 through 10-
110. 

(3)  “Financial exploitation” means: 
(A)  the wrongful or unauthorized taking, withholding, appropriation or use of money, 
assets or property of an eligible adult; or 
(B)  any act or omission taken by a person, including through the use of a power of 
attorney, guardianship, conservatorship or any other authority, regarding an eligible 
adult, to: 

(i)  obtain control, through the use of intimidation, undue influence, coercion, 
harassment, duress, deception, false representation or false pretense, over the 
eligible adult’s money, assets or property to deprive such eligible adult of the 
ownership, use, benefit of possession of his money, assets or property; or 
(ii)  convert money, assets or property of the eligible adult to deprive such eligible 
adult of the ownership, use, benefit or possession of his money, assets or property. 

(4)  “Qualified individual” means any agent of, investment adviser representative of, or 
person who serves in a supervisory, compliance or legal capacity for, a broker-dealer or an 
investment adviser transacting business in this state. 

(b)  Governmental Disclosures.  If a qualified individual reasonably believes that financial 
exploitation of an eligible adult may have occurred, may have been attempted, is being 
attempted, or will be attempted, the qualified individual shall promptly notify the agencies. A 
qualified individual who, in good faith and exercising reasonable care, makes a disclosure of 
information pursuant to this subsection shall be immune from administrative or civil liability that 
might otherwise arise from such disclosure or for any failure to notify the customer of the 
disclosure or for participation in any judicial proceeding resulting from such disclosure. 
(c)  Third-Party Disclosures.  If a qualified individual reasonably believes that financial 
exploitation of an eligible adult may have occurred, may have been attempted, is being 
attempted, or will be attempted, a qualified individual may notify any third party previously 
designated by the eligible adult, unless the qualified individual reasonably believes that such 
designated third party has engaged, is engaged, or will engage, in suspected or attempted 
financial exploitation of the eligible adult. A qualified individual who, in good faith and exercising 
reasonable care, complies with this subsection shall be immune from any administrative or civil 
liability that might otherwise arise from such disclosure. 
(d)  Delaying disbursements. 



(1)  A broker-dealer or investment adviser transacting business in this state may delay a 
disbursement of funds or securities from an account of an eligible adult or an account on 
which an eligible adult is a beneficiary if: 

(A)  the broker-dealer, investment adviser or qualified individual reasonably believes, 
after initiating an internal review of the requested disbursement, that the requested 
disbursement may result in financial exploitation of an eligible adult; and 
(B)  the broker-dealer or investment adviser: 

(i)  immediately, but in no event more than two business days after the requested 
disbursement, provides written notification of the delay and the reason for the delay 
to all parties authorized to transact business on the account, unless the broker-
dealer or investment adviser reasonably believes that any such party has engaged, 
is engaged, or will engage, in suspected or attempted financial exploitation of the 
eligible adult; 
(ii)  immediately, but in no event more than two business days after the requested 
disbursement, notifies the agencies; and 
(iii)  continues its internal review of the suspected or attempted financial exploitation 
of the eligible adult, as necessary, and reports the results of the internal review to the 
agencies within seven business days after the requested disbursement. 

(2)  Any delay of a disbursement of funds or securities as authorized by this subsection will 
expire upon the sooner of: 

(A)  a determination by the broker-dealer or investment adviser that the disbursement 
will not result in financial exploitation of the eligible adult; or 
(B)  fifteen business days after the date on which the broker-dealer or investment 
adviser first delayed disbursement of the funds, unless either of the agencies requests 
that the broker-dealer or investment adviser extend the delay, in which case the delay 
shall expire no more than twenty-five business days after the date the broker-dealer or 
investment adviser first delayed disbursement of the funds unless sooner terminated by 
either of the agencies or an order of a court of competent jurisdiction. 

(3)  A court of competent jurisdiction may enter an order extending the delay of the 
disbursement of funds or securities or may order other protective relief based on the petition 
of any one of the agencies, the broker-dealer or investment adviser that initiated the delay 
under this subsection, or another interested party. 
(4)  A broker-dealer or investment adviser that, in good faith and exercising reasonable care, 
complies with this subsection shall be immune from any administrative or civil liability that 
might otherwise arise from such delay in a disbursement in accordance with this subsection. 

(e)  Records.  A broker-dealer or investment adviser transacting business in this state shall 
provide access to or copies of records that are relevant to the suspected or attempted financial 
exploitation of an eligible adult to the Oklahoma Department of Human Services and to law 
enforcement, either as part of a referral to, or upon request of, the Oklahoma Department of 
Human Services or law enforcement.  The records may include historical records as well as 
records relating to the most recent transaction or transactions that may comprise financial 
exploitation of an eligible adult.  Nothing in this provision shall limit or otherwise impede the 
authority of the Administrator of the Oklahoma Department of Securities to access or examine 
the books and records of broker-dealers and investment advisers as otherwise provided by law. 


